Son Heung-Min’s Premier League goal wins Puskas Award


Tottenham forward Son Heung-Min has won the FIFA Puskas Award for the amazing solo goal he scored against Burnley in the Premier League last season.


The South Korean beat off competition from Giorgian de Arrascaeta and Luis Suarez to win the annual award.

Son’s goal was too good not to be chosen as the goal of the year after he dribbled almost the entire length of the pitch before finishing before finishing off beautifully.

Speaking after winning the Puskas Award this evening, Sonny, typically modest, said:


After I scored the goal, I didn’t realise it was such an amazing goal. As soon as I realised after the game when I watched it again, I was thinking, ‘wow, this was something special.

During the game, you are focussed, after the game I was so surprised that I was so far away, so many people around me… it was an amazing feeling, ” the South Korean added.


Son’s win makes it the third time a Premier League player has been awarded the Puskas Award.

Olivier Giroud won the first of the three for his scorpion kick against Crystal Palace in 2017, while Salah’s goal for Liverpool against Everton won the 2018 prize.

Son also joins a host of other renowned footballers to have the Puskas award.

Below are the award winners since 2009.


Puskas Award winners:

Daniel Zsori (2019)

Mohamed Salah (2018)

Olivier Giroud (2017)

Mohd Faiz Subri (2016)

Wendell Lira (2015)

James Rodríguez (2014)

Zlatan Ibrahimovic (2013)

Miroslav Stoch (2012)

Neymar (2011)

Hamit Altintop (2010)

Cristiano Ronaldo (2009)


Kayson Papa Nketsiah Jr

He aims to create something brilliant daily. Eager to learn more. He uses his free time to get better at what interests him, whether it's entertainment, gaming, or even something entirely new

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
The Konversation

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker