2020 game awards: Last of US II wins game of the year


Naughty Dog’s Last of Us  II dominated the headlines at the 2020 game awards ceremony awards, as it won several awards including the 2020 game of the year award.

This year’s event was hosted in Los Angeles, London and Tokyo from three in-studio and audience-less locations by Geoff Keighley and were streamed on several platforms such as YouTube, Twitch and Twitter and Facebook Live as they abandoned the traditional live audience approach.


The 2020 game awards kicked off with a pre-show at :30 p.m. ET/3:30 p.m. PT/ 11: 30pm GMT before the main event started at 7:00 p.m. ET/ 4:00 p.m./ PT 12:00 a.m GMT, with the awards ending with the crowning of Last of Us II as the game of the year.

After enjoying several plaudits since its release, Last Of Us II went into the awards with high hopes and they came out successful as they edged out the likes of Ghost of Tsushima, Final Fantasy VII Remake and Hades for the game of the year award.

But even before the big announcement, the hit sequel had won several other big awards throughout the night, including best direction, narrative, action/adventure game, innovation in accessibility award, audio design award and performance for Laura Bailey who acted as Abby.


The sequel’s dominance comes as no surprise to the gaming world especially taking into account the several records they broke in the first few weeks upon their release.

2020 game awards
The Last of Us II dominated the headlines at the 2020 game awards.

They became the third highest-grossing video game ever in the United States behind only Marvel’s Spider-Man and 2018’s God of War while also becoming the fastest-selling PS4 exclusive to date after selling four million copies worldwide in three days.


After winning the award, Naughty Dog indicated: “After an unprecedented year full of so many brilliant games, having The Last of Us Part II win Game of the Year at #TheGameAwards is such an immense honor. Congratulations to the team, our cast and crew, and all of our partners at  @PlayStation and beyond!”

You can also watch the video below for the thoughts of  Neil Druckman (co-president of Naughty Dog) after they won several awards at the 2020 game awards ceremony.

In the other categories for the 2020 game awards, Mortal Kombat 11 Ultimate also won the fighting game for 2020 edging out the likes of, Granblue Fantasy, Street Fighter V, One Punch Man, Under Night In-Birth and Under Night In-Birth Exe.

2020 game awards winners 

Below are the winners for the 2020 game awards.

Game of the Year

The Last of Us Part II – Naughty Dog (WINNER)
Animal Crossing: New Horizons – Nintendo
Doom Eternal – id Software
Final Fantasy VII Remake – Square Enix
Ghost of Tsushima – Sucker Punch
Hades – Supergiant Games

Game Direction

The Last of Us Part II – Naughty Dog (WINNER)
Final Fantasy VII Remake – Square Enix
Ghost of Tsushima – Sucker Punch
Hades – Supergiant Games
Half-Life Alyx – Valve

Most Anticipated Game

Elden Ring – From Software/Bandai Namco (WINNER)
Halo Infinite – 343/Xbox Game Studios
Horizon Forbidden West – Guerrilla Games/SIE
God of War Sequel – SIE Santa Monica/SIE
Resident Evil Village – Capcom
The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild Sequel – Nintendo


The Last of Us Part II (WINNER)
13 Sentinels: Aegis Rim
Final Fantasy VII Remake
Ghost of Tsushima

Art Direction

Ghost of Tsushima (WINNER)
Final Fantasy VII Remake
Ori and the Will of the Wisps
The Last of Us Part II

Score and Music

Final Fantasy VII Remake (WINNER)
Doom Eternal
Ori and the Will of the Wisps
The Last of Us Part II

Audio Design

The Last of Us Part II (WINNER)
Doom Eternal
Half-Life: Alyx
Ghost of Tsushima
Resident Evil 3


Laura Bailey – Abby, The Last of Us Part II (WINNER)
Ashley Johnson – Ellie, The Last of Us Part II
Daisuke Tsuji – Jin, Ghost of Tsushima
Logan Cunningham – Hades, Hades
Nadji Jeterm – Miles Morales, Marvel’s Spider-Man: Miles Morales

Games for Impact

Tell Me Why (WINNER)
If Found…
Kentucky Route Zero: TV Edition
Through Darkest of Times

Ongoing Game

No Man’s Sky (WINNER)
Apex Legends
Destiny 2
Call of Duty: Warzone

Indie Game

Hades (WINNER)
Fall Guys: Ultimate Knockout
Spelunky 2

Debut Indie Game

Phasmophobia (WINNER)
Mortal Shell
Raji: An Acient Epic

Mobile Game

Among Us (WINNER)
Call of Duty Mobile
Genshin Impact
Legends of Runeterra
Pokémon Cafe Mix

Community Support

Fall Guys: Ultimate Knockout (WINNER)
Apex Legends
Destiny 2
No Man’s Sky

VR/AR Game

Half-Life: Alyx (WINNER)
Marvel’s Iron Man VR
Star Wars: Squadrons
The Walking Dead: Saints & Sinners

Innovation in Accessibility

The Last of Us Part II (WINNER)
Assassin’s Creed Valhalla
Watch Dogs Legion

Action Game

Hades (WINNER)
Doom Eternal
Half-Life: Alyx
Nioh 2
Streets of Rage 4

Action/Adventure Game

The Last of Us Part II (WINNER)
Assassin’s Creed Valhalla
Ghost of Tsushima
Marvel’s Spider-Man: Miles Morales
Ori and the Will of the Wisps
Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order


Final Fantasy VII Remake (WINNER)
Genshin Impact
Persona 5 Royal
Wasteland 3
Yakuza: Like a Dragon

Fighting Game

Mortal Kombat 11 Ultimate (WINNER)
Granblue Fantasy: Versus
Street Fighter V: Champion Edition
One Punch Man: A Hero Nobody Knows
Under Night In-Birth
Under Night In-Birth Exe:Late[cl-r]

Family Game

Animal Crossing: New Horizons (WINNER)
Crash Bandicoot 4: It’s About Time
Fall Guys: Ultimate Knockout
Mario Kart Live: Home Circuit
Minecraft Dungeons
Paper Mario: The Origami King

Sim/Strategy Game

Microsoft Flight Simulator (WINNER)
Crusader Kings 3
Desperados 3
Gears Tactics
XCOM: Chimera Squad#

Sports/Racing Game

Tony Hawk’s Pro Skater 1+2 (WINNER)
Dirt 5
F1 2020
NBA 2K21

Multiplayer Game

Among Us (WINNER)
Animal Crossing: New Horizons
Call of Duty: Warzone
Fall Guys: Ultimate Knockout

Content Creator of the Year

Valkyrae (WINNER)
Alanah Pearce
Jay Ann Lopez

Esports Athlete

Heo “Showmaker” Su (WINNER)
Ian “Crimsix” Porter
Kim “Canyon” Geon-Bu
Anthony “Shotzzy” Cuevas-Castro
Matthieu “Zywoo” Herbaut

Esports Coach

Danny “Zonic” Sorensen (WINNER)
Dae-Hee “Crusty” Park
Fabian “Grabbz” Lohmann
Lee “Zefa” Jae-Min
Raymond “Rambo” Lussier

Esports Event

League of Legends World Championship 2020 (WINNER)
Blast Premier: Spring 2020 European Finals
Call of Duty League Championship 2020
IEM Katowice 2020
Overwatch League Grand Finals 2020

Esports Game

League of Legends (WINNER)
Call of Duty: Modern Warfare
Counter-Strike: Global Offensive

Esports Host

Eefje “Sjokz” Depoortere (WINNER)
Alex “Goldenboy” Mendez
Alex “Machine” Richardson
James “Dash” Patterson
Jorien “Sheever” Van der Heijden

Esports Team

G2 Esports (WINNER)
Damwon Gaming
Dallas Empire
San Francisco Shock
Team Secret

What do you know about the Last of Us II? 

Want to know more about the game of the year award? Here is it!


Last of Us Part II continues with the journey of Ellie and Joel. In part I, the story is set in the post-apocalyptic United States, and tells the story of survivors, Joel and Ellie, as they work together to survive. The journey westward across what remains of the country to find a possible cure for the modern fungal plague that has nearly decimated the entire human race.

In the sequel, Ellie and Joel have now settled down in Jackson, Wyoming. They now live amongst a thriving community of survivors and that has allowed them peace and stability, despite the constant threat of the infected and other, more desperate survivors.

Later a violent event disrupts that peace, forcing Ellie to embark on a relentless journey to carry out justice and find closure. As she hunts those responsible one by one, she is confronted with the devastating physical and emotional repercussions of her actions.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button
The Konversation

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker