2020 FIFPRO Men’s World XI shortlist revealed


55 players have been nominated by FIFA and FIFPRO as the best in their position for the 2019/2020 season. The nominees include 10 goalkeepers, 15 defenders, 15 midfielders, and 15 forwards, with the final XI set to be announced on 17th December 2020.


Bayern Munich, unsurprisingly, have 11 players in the list after emerging triumphant in their domestic league as well as the Champions League.  The Bavarians have representatives in all departments of the shortlist, with the likes of   Alphonso Davies, Serge Gnabry and Leon Goretzka appearing in the shortlist for the first time.

2020 Fifpro Men'S World Xi Shortlist
Bayern have 11 players in the shortlist.

Robert Lewandoski maintains his place among the forwards due to his impressive performances last season, finishing the season with 55 goals in all competitions. He is joined by Joshua Kimmich as the only two Bayern players to have maintained their place in the 2020 FIFPRO Men’s World XI shortlist.

While new players have joined the list, the likes of Joao Cancelo, Daniel Carvajal,  Roberto Firmino, Diego Godin, Antoine Griezmann, Aymeric Laporte, Arthur Melo, Ivan Rakitic, Raheem Sterling, Dusan Tadic, Arturo Vidal and Kyle Walker failed to make the cut.


2020 2020 FIFPRO Men’s World XI shortlist

Below is list:


  • Alisson Becker (Liverpool FC, Brazil)
  • Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid, Belgium)
  • David de Gea (Manchester United, Spain)
  • Gianluigi Donnarumma (AC Milan, Italy)
  • Moraes Ederson (Manchester City, Brazil)
  • Hugo Lloris (Tottenham Hotspur, France)
  • Keylor Navas (Paris Saint-Germain, Costa Rica)
  • Manuel Neuer (FC Bayern Munich, Germany)
  • Jan Oblak (Atletico Madrid, Slovenia)
  • Marc-Andre ter Stegen (FC Barcelona, Germany)


  • David Alaba (FC Bayern Munich, Austria)
  • Jordi Alba (FC Barcelona, Spain)
  • Toby Alderweireld (Tottenham Hotspur, Belgium)
  • Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool FC, England)
  • Dani Alves (Sao Paulo, Brazil)
  • Jerome Boateng (FC Bayern Munich, Germany)
  • Alphonso Davies (FC Bayern Munich, Canada)
  • Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool FC, The Netherlands)
  • Kalidou Koulibaly (SSC Napoli, Senegal)
  • Matthijs de Ligt (Juventus FC, The Netherlands)
  • Marcelo (Real Madrid, Brazil)
  • Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid, Spain)
  • Andrew Robertson (Liverpool FC, Scotland)
  • Thiago Silva (Chelsea, Brazil)
  • Raphael Varane (Real Madrid, France)


  • Thiago Alcantara (FC Bayern Munich, now Liverpool), Spain)
  • Dele Alli (Tottenham Hotspur, England)
  • Sergio Busquets (FC Barcelona, Spain)
  • Casemiro (Real Madrid, Brazil)
  • Philippe Coutinho (FC Bayern Munich, now FC Barcelona, Brazil)
  • Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City, Belgium)
  • Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United, Portugal)
  • Leon Goretzka (FC Bayern Munich, Germany)
  • Jordan Henderson (Liverpool FC, England)
  • Frenkie de Jong (FC Barcelona, The Netherlands)
  • N’Golo Kante (Chelsea FC, France)
  • Toni Kroos (Real Madrid, Germany)
  • Joshua Kimmich (FC Bayern Munich, Germany)
  • Luka Modric (Real Madrid, Croatia)
  • Thomas Muller (FC Bayern Munich, Germany)


  • Sergio Aguero (Manchester City, Argentina)
  • Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Arsenal, Gabon)
  • Karim Benzema (Real Madrid, France)
  • Serge Gnabry (FC Bayern Munich, Germany)
  • Erling Haaland (Borussia Dortmund, Norway)
  • Zlatan Ibrahimovic (AC Milan, Sweden)
  • Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur, England)
  • Robert Lewandowski (FC Bayern Munich, Poland)
  • Sadio Mane (Liverpool FC, Senegal)
  • Kylian Mbappe (Paris Saint-Germain, France)
  • Lionel Messi (FC Barcelona, Argentina)
  • Neymar Junior (Paris Saint-Germain, Brazil)
  • Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus, Portugal)
  • Mohamed Salah (Liverpool FC, Egypt)
  • Son Heungmin (Tottenham Hotspur, South Korea)



Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
The Konversation

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker